Tuesday 18 May 2021
Home      All news      Contact us      RSS     
theguardian - 29 days ago

Mars helicopter Ingenuity: Nasa about to try historic flight

If all goes to plan, craft will ascend to 10 feet above the surface of Mars, hover for 30 seconds, then rotate before descendingNasa on Monday will attempt to fly a miniature helicopter above the surface of Mars in what would be the first powered, controlled flight of an aircraft on another planet.If all goes to plan, the 1.8kg helicopter will slowly ascend to an altitude of three metres above the Martian surface, hover for 30 seconds, then rotate before descending to a gentle landing on all four legs. The flight is due to take place at 3.30am US eastern daylight time (8.30am BST/7.30am GMT). But data confirming the outcome is not expected to reach Nasa until about three hourse later. Continue reading...


Latest News
Hashtags:   

helicopter

 | 

Ingenuity

 | 

about

 | 

historic

 | 

flight

 | 

Sources